Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

dimanche 4 décembre 2022


MERCURY RECORDS 1964                         MG 20938


Quincy Jones – arranger, conductor with orchestra including:
    Freddie Hubbard, Joe Newman, Johnny Foske, Dick Hurwitz − trumpet
    Al Grey, Billy Byers, Paul Faulise, Quentin Jackson, Bill Watrous − trombone
    James Buffington, Morris Secon − French horn
    Jerome Richardson − flute, soprano saxophone, alto saxophone, tenor saxophone
    Phil Woods − alto saxophone
    Frank Foster − tenor saxophone, flute
    Eddie "Lockjaw" Davis − tenor saxophone
    George Dessinger, Stan Webb − tenor saxophone, clarinet
    Billy Slapin − clarinet, flute
    Cecil Payne − baritone saxophone
    Jim Hall − guitar
    Margaret Ross − harp
    Bobby Scott − piano
    Don Elliott − vibraphone, marimba, vocals
    Art Davis, Bob Cranshaw, Milt Hinton − bass
    Ed Shaughnessy, Grady Tate − drums
    Al Brown, Archie Levin, Charles McCracken, David Mankovitz, David Schwartz,
    George Ricci, Harold Coletta, Harry Lookofsky, Julien Barber,
     Karen Tuttle, Kermit Moore, Maurice Bialkin,
     Selwart Clarke, Ted Israel – string section

Recorded    September 15, 1964
Studio    National Recording Studios, New York City

Strings personnel is based on LP sleeve, which may
or may not refer to session on September 15, 1964 or,
more likely, a collective listing for both sessions.
Don Elliott plays bass marimba on Seaweed.

Golden Boy is listed as (string version) to distinguish
from big band version recorded September 15, 1964.

tracks list:

A1     Theme From Golden Boy     2:47
A2     The Witching Hour     3:40
A3     Seaweed     2:24
A4     Golden Boy     3:10
A5     Django     4:58
B1     Soul Serenade     3:44
B2     Theme From Golden Boy     3:54
B3     Hard Day's Night     3:24
B4     The Sidewinder     3:40
B5     The Midnight Sun Will Never Set     3:08

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire