Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

lundi 17 février 2014


PRESTIGE RECORDS 1971                                    PR 10033 


Virgil Jones (tp)
Grover Washington Jr. (ts, fl)
Leon Spencer (org)
Melvin Sparks (g)
Idris Muhammad (d)
Buddy Caldwell (cga)

recorde at:

Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, July 7, 1971

tracks list:

A1         Louisiana Slim        
A2         Mercy Mercy Me        
A3         (They Long To Be) Close To You        
B1         Our Love Will Never Die        
B2         The Trouble With Love

updated link

dimanche 16 février 2014


ABC RECORDS 1965                                             ABCS 509

 Live at the Regal is a 1965 live album by blues guitarist
and singer B.B. King. It was recorded on November 21, 1964
at the Regal Theater in Chicago.


Presenter – E. Rodney Jones, Pervis Spann
Producer – Johnny Pate

B.B. King – guitar, vocals
Leo Lauchie – bass
Duke Jethro – piano
Sonny Freeman – drums
Bobby Forte, Johnny Board – tenor saxophone

tracks list:

A1 Every Day I Have The Blues
Written-By – Peter Chatman
A2 Sweet Little Angel
Written-By – R. King*, J. Taub*
A3 It's My Own Fault
Written-By – J. L. Hooker*
A4 How Blue Can You Get
Written-By – Jane Feathers*
A5 Please Love Me
Written-By – R. King*, J. Taub*
B1 You Upset Me Baby
Written-By – J. Josea*, Maxwell Davis
B2 Worry, Worry
Written-By – David Plumber*, J. Taub*
B3 Woke Up This Mornin'
Written-By – R. King*
B4 You Done Lost Your Good Thing Now
Written By – V. Spivey-R. Floyd
B5 Help The Poor
Written-By – Charlie Singleton* 

vendredi 14 février 2014


PACIFIC JAZZ RECORDS 1967                                    ST-20117

Big Swing Face is a 1967 live album by Buddy Rich and his big band -
the second album by Rich and his 1960s big band. "The Beat Goes On"
features Rich's daughter, Cathy, on vocals


Arranged By – Bill Holman (tracks: A1, A3, B4), Bill Potts (tracks: A2),
Bob Florence (tracks: B2), Harry Betts (tracks: B1),
Pete Myers (tracks: A5) Shorty Rogers (tracks: A4, B3)
Art Direction – Woody Woodward

Bass – James Gannon
Drums – Buddy Rich
Flute – Ernie Watts, Jay Corre, Robert Keller
Guitar – Richard Resnicoff
Piano – Ray Starling
Saxophone [Alto] – Ernie Watts, Quin Davis
Saxophone [Baritone] – Marty Flax
Saxophone [Tenor] – Jay Corre, Robert Keller
Trombone – Jim Trimble, Ron Meyers
Trombone [Bass] – Bill Wimberly

recorded at:

"Chez Club", Hollywood, CA, February 22,23,24,25,and march 10 1967;
  United Recording, Hollywood, CA, 1967

Producer – Richard Bock
Engineer – Wally Heider

tracks list:

A1 Norwegian Wood (This Bird Has Flown)
Soloist – Ernie Watts, Jim Trimble
A2 Big Swing Face
 Soloist – Bobby Shew, Ernie Watts, Ray Starling
A3 Monitor Theme
Soloist – Bobby Shew, Jay Corre
A4 Wack Wack
Soloist – Ernie Watts
A5 Love For Sale
Soloist – Chuck Findley, Jay Corre
B1 Mexicalli Rose
Soloist – Jay Corre
B2 Willowcrest
Soloist – Chuck Findley, Jay Corre
B3 The Beat Goes On
Soloist – Jay Corre Vocals – Cathy Rich
B4 Bugle Call Rag
Soloist – Chuck Findley, Jay Corre