Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

vendredi 12 janvier 2018


ORLEANS RECORDS 1990                                OR1001

Victory Mixture is a 1990 album by Willy DeVille. 
The album consists of cover versions of New Orleans 
R&B and soul classics by DeVille’s musical idols. 
Trouser Press said about the album, “A rootsy covers collection, 
Victory Mixture provides a welcome antidote to Miracle's 
misguided modernity, making the most of the singer's relocation 
to New Orleans with backup from such local legends 
as Allen Toussaint, Eddie Bo and Dr. John."Victory Mixture is 
unusual in that it was recorded without the use of overdubbing 
or sound editing, the idea being to record the songs in the same 
manner as they were recorded originally in the 1950s 
and early 1960s — without soundboard technology.


Wayne Bennett – guitar
Samuel Berfect – Hammond organ
Eddie Bo – piano
Isaac Bolden - piano
Ross Brady – background vocals
Kerry Brown – drums
Rene Coman – bass guitar, upright bass
Brian "Breeze" Coyolle - tenor sax, baritone sax
Willy DeVille - guitar, vocals
Keith Fazarde – vibraphone
Barbara George – background vocals
Bill Gregory - guitar
Porgy Jones - trumpet
Frèdèrick Koella - guitar
Allison Miner – background vocals
Leo Nocentelli - guitar
George Porter, Jr. - bass guitar
Mac Rebennack (Dr. John) - piano
Allen Toussaint - piano
Johnny Vidacovich - drums
Dorene Wise - background vocals
YaDonna Wise – background vocals

Roger Branch – engineer
Carlo Ditta – producer
Mark Hewitt - engineer
Barry Kaiser - photography
Owen Murphy - photography
Hank Waring – digital remastering

Recorded Sea Saint Recording Studio,
New Orleans

Track listing

1 Hello My Lover
2 It Do Me Good
3 Key To My Heart
4 Beating Like A Tom-Tom
5 Every Dog Has Its Day
6 Big Blue Diamonds
7 Teasin' You
8 Ruler Of My Heart
9 Who Shot The La-La
10 Junker's Blues

Aucun commentaire:

Enregistrer un commentaire