Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

dimanche 9 février 2020


BOYD RECORDS 1961                              UAL 3162


Phil Upchurch and his Combo 
(Upchurch, Muldrow, David Brooks, Mac Johnson and Joe Haddick)
recorded in New Orleans in 1960 and 
released in 1961 by Boyd Records (Boyd 3398) of Oklahoma

tracks list:

1. You Can't Sit Down (part One)
2. Oop Poop Adoo
3. Honest Injun
4. Pink Lollipop
5. Pogo
6. Cha Cha Cha Blues
7. You Can't Sit Down (part Two)
8. Straw Hat
9. Running Bear
10. Nothing But The Soul
11. Evad
12. Organ Boogie
13. Cha Cha Maracas
14. The Hog
15. That's Where It Is

2 commentaires:

  1. Oh, this is a nice one, Mr Soul. The title cut was my intro to jazz organ combos back in '61. Never seen the LP.

    Thanks very much.