Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

mardi 5 février 2019


TAMLA RECORDS 1966                                           S 270

Take Two was a duet album by Motown label mates Marvin Gaye and 
Kim Weston, released August 25, 1966 on the Motown's Tamla label.
 The album was titled after its most successful selection, the Top 5
 R&B/Top 20 Pop hit "It Takes Two", which was to this point Gaye's 
most successful duet with another singer. The album also featured
 the modest hit "What Good Am I Without You?".
Shortly after this album was released, Weston left Motown in a dispute
 over royalties (coincidentally, Mary Wells had departed from Motown 
two years prior after also recording a duets album - Together - with Gaye).
 Weston's replacement as Gaye's duet partner was Tammi Terrell, who 
recorded several successful hit singles with Gaye during the late 1960s.


Lead (and additional background) vocals by Marvin Gaye and Kim Weston
Background vocals by The Andantes and The Spinners
Instrumentation by The Funk Brothers

Released August 25, 1966

Recorded 1964-1966; Hitsville USA, Detroit, Michigan, USA

tracks list:

A1 It Takes Two       Written-By – S. Moy*2:53

A2 I Love You, Yes I Do      Written By – S. Nix, S. Glover 2:18
A3 Baby I Need Your Loving        Written-By – Holland, Dozier, Holland*3:09
A4 It's Got To Be A Miracle (This Thing Called Love) 
   Written-By – S. Moy*, V. Bullock*3:27
A5 Baby Say Yes      Written-By – K. Weston*  3:12
A6 What Good Am I Without You        Written By – A. Higdon2:50
B1 Till There Was You           Written By – M. Willson2:24
B2 Love Fell On Me     Written-By – S. Moy*2:25
B3 Secret Love    Written By – P. Webster, S. Fain 2:44
B4 I Want You 'Round  Written-By – Wm. Robinson* 2:24
B5 Heaven Sent You I Know  Written By – H. Cosby, V. Bullock 3:01
B6 When We're Together  Written-By – S. Moy*, V. Bullock* 2:36

1 commentaire:

  1. Yes, A real classic! Funny enough I only had the 2007 version (Take Two+) which re-sequenced the tracks among other recordings and therefore broke up the integrity of the original album. Perhaps they should have just tagged them on as Bonus tracks, would of made more sense I guess?
    Thanks for posting it, as it was originally intended.