Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

dimanche 27 décembre 2020


MONEY RECORDS 1967                                      LP1103 


 Bettye Swann
Real Name:Betty Jean Champion
Profile:Best known for her 1967 R&B chart-topper "Make Me Yours," 
Southern soul chanteuse Bettye Swann was born Betty Jean Champion
 in Shreveport, Louisiana on October 24, 1944.

She first surfaced during the early 1960s as a member of the Fawns
 before mounting a solo career in 1964 with the Carolyn Franklin-penned
 "Don't Wait Too Long," the first of a series of Arthur Wright-produced 
singles for the independent Los Angeles label Money. "The Man That Said No"
 and "The Heartache Is Gone" followed in 1965, and two years later,
 Swann returned with the gorgeous "Make Me Yours," which also served as
 the title for her first full-length LP. 1967 saw the release of three more
 Money singles -- "Fall in Love With Me," "Don't Look Back," and "
I Think I'm Falling in Love" 

tracks list:

1. Make me Yours
2. Fall in Love with Me
3. Don't Look Back
4. Don't Wait Too Long
5. Don't Take My Mind
6. I Can't Stop Loving You
7. I Think I'm Falling in Love
8. You Gave Me Love
9. The Heartache is Gone
10. I Will not Cry
11. What is My Life Coming To
12. A Change is Gonna Come


4 commentaires:

  1. Thanks a lot Mr.Soul. This one works much better than lousy uptobox. You've got a musical taste "extraordinaire"!!!!

  2. Dead Link Rapidgator the "file is not found" can you please re-up thanks in advance

  3. Hi!

    Thanx for this one & Anne Peebles. Great female R&B/Soul. Having "difficulties" getting to Comments & haven't been able to respond but simple THANX! for ALL the music.

    Ciao! For now.