Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

mardi 24 avril 2012


ATLANTIC RECORDS 1966                              SD8120 


sessions recording:

Horace Ott (p, org) Bob Bushnell, Harry Jensen (g) Ron Miller (b?)
Bernard Purdie (d) Don Covay (vo)
NYC, October 4, 1964
8254    Precious You
Don Covay (vo) unidentified house band
"Apollo Theater", NYC, October 21, 1964
8290    Mercy, Mercy
Dud Bascomb, Harold "Money" Johnson (tp) Dickie Harris (tb) 
Babe Clarke (ts) Horace Ott (p) Bob Bushnell, Billy Butler (g) Alan Fontaine (b?)
 Bernard Purdie (d) Don Covay (vo) George Clane, Ace Hall, Harry Tiffin (back vo)
NYC, January 27, 1965
8634    The Boomerang
8635    A Woman's Love
8636    The Usual Place
8637    Please Do Something
Wayne Jackson (tp) Andrew Love (ts) Floyd Newman (bars) Booker T. Jones (p, org)
 Steve Cropper (g) Donald "Duck" Dunn (el-b) Al Jackson (d) Don Covay (vo)
Memphis, TN, June 30, 1965
9073    See-Saw
9076    Sookie Sookie
9077    I Never Get Enough Of Your Love
Horace Hall (tb?) Seldon Powell, Harold Vick (ts) Paul Griffin (org) 
Billy Butler (g) Alan Fontaine (b?, g?) Albert Winston (el-b) Bernard Purdie (d) 
Don Covay (vo)
NYC, November 29, 1965
9633    Fat Man
Wayne Jackson (tp) Andrew Love (ts) Floyd Newman (bars) Isaac Hayes (p) 
Steve Cropper (g) Donald "Duck" Dunn (el-b) Al Jackson (d) Don Covay (vo) 
The Goodtimers (vocal group) unidentified female choir
Memphis, TN?, May 26, 1966
10329    Iron Out The Rough Spots

tracks list:

A1 See-Saw
    Written-By – Steve Cropper 2:57    
A2 The Boomerang
    Written-By – Horace Ott, Leroy Randolph 1:55    
A3 Everything Gonna Be Everything
    Written-By – Ronnie Miller* 2:28    
A4 Fat Man
    Written-By – Leroy Randolph 2:32    
A5 Precious You     2:43    
A6 Iron Out The Rough Spots
    Written-By – Booker T. Jones, David Porter, Steve Cropper 2:20    
B1 Please Do Something
    Written-By – Ronnie Miller* 2:43    
B2 I Never Get Enough Of Your Love
    Written-By – Steve Cropper 2:44    
B3 The Usual Place
    Written-By – Leroy Randolph 2:05    
B4 A Woman's Love     2:30    
B5 Sookie, Sookie
    Written-By – Steve Cropper 2:38    
B6 Mercy, Mercy
    Written-By – Horace Ott 2:21    


samedi 21 avril 2012


Infinity Entertainment Group  RECORDS 

Release Date     Nov 04, 2003

Harman performed as a blues harmonica player and singer in Chicago,
 New York, and elsewhere before he moved to Southern California 
in the 1970s.[2] There, his Icehouse Blues Band played alongside 
Big Joe Turner, John Lee Hooker, Freddie King, Muddy Waters, Albert King,
 B.B. King, T-Bone Walker, Lowell Fulsom, Eddie "Cleanhead" 
Vinson, Johnny "Guitar" Watson, and Albert Collins.[3] In 1977
 he formed the James Harman Band. Over the years their line-up 
has included Phil Alvin and Bill Bateman, who left in 1978 to form
 The Blasters; Gene Taylor, who departed in 1981, also to join 
the Blasters before moving on to The Fabulous Thunderbirds; and Kid Ramos.
 Alumni also included the late Hollywood Fats who, after leaving
his own band in 1980, played alongside Harman for five years.

tracks list:

1    Double Hogback Growler           
2    Lowdown Grown-up Jive           
3    Skeet-a-little Taste           
4    Piecework Politicians           
5    Alibi, Reason Why (Sounds Just Like a Lie to Me)           
6    Miss Bessie Mae Blues           
7    My Secret Escapade           
8    Bad-Luck Life           
9    Love Stuff           
10    Time Will Tell           
11    It's Yo' World (I'm Just Livin' in It Now)           
12    Lonesome Moon Trance

a full version this time!!! (thank you Ken)

dimanche 8 avril 2012


 RARE EARTH 1969                                              RS 507 

Rare Earth is an American rock band affiliated with Motown's Rare Earth
 record label (which was named after the band), who prospered in 1970–1972.
 Although not the first white band signed to Motown, Rare Earth was the first
 big hit-making act signed by Motown that consisted only of white members.


Bass – John Parrish (2)
       Drums – Pete Rivera (2)
    Guitar – Rod Richards
    Keyboards – Kenny James (2)
       Producer – Rare Earth
    Saxophone, Flute – Gil Bridges
    Vocals – Gil Bridges, Pete Rivera (2), Rod Richards

Producer – Rare Earth

Design [Cover] – Bob Cato
  Photography – Jim Hendin

tracks list:

A1         Magic Key     3:57   
A2         Tobacco Road     7:11   
A3         Feelin' Alright     5:03   
A4         In Bed     3:01   
A5         Train To Nowhere     3:23   
B         Get Ready     21:30

vendredi 6 avril 2012


COTILLION RECORDS 1970                            SD 9014 


    Wayne Jackson - trumpet (born 24 November 1941,
 in Memphis, Tennessee, USA)
    Andrew Love - tenor saxophone (born 21 November 1941, 
in Memphis, Tennessee, USA)
    Lewis Collins - saxophone, flute
    Jack Hale - trombone
    Jack Hale, Jr. - trumpet, french horn, (born in 1955,
 in Memphis, Tennessee, USA
    Ed Logan - tenor saxophone (born Edward Logan, 12 February 1945, 
in Memphis, Tennessee, USA died 13 April 2000, in Mobile, Alabama, USA)
    James Mitchell - baritone saxophone (born 27 May 1949, 
in Ashland, Kentucky, USA)
    Ben Cauley - trumpet
    Roger Hopps - trumpet
recorded at Sounds of Memphis,
Memphis Tenn.
engineer : stan Kesler
produced by Stan Kesler, Wayne Jackson & Andrew lowe

tracks list:

A1 I Can't Turn You Loose     2:31    
A2 Soul Bowl     3:13    
A3 Wooly Bully     2:25    
A4 One Mile High     2:27    
A5 Medley To Sam & Dave With Love - You Don't Know
 Like I Know/Soul Man     3:02    
B1 Sanitation Man     2:11    
B2 Share Your Love With Me     2:57    
B3 Cry Like A Baby     2:33    
B4 Cherry Tree     2:16    
B5 Sad Song (Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa-Fa)     2:32    
B6 Time     2:43

mardi 3 avril 2012


MOTOWN RECORDS 1967                                       S-660 

Reach Out is an album recorded by the Four Tops, issued 
on Motown Records in July 1967. It was the final Four Tops 
LP to be produced by Motown's main songwriting and production
  team, Holland–Dozier–Holland, who departed 
the label in late 1967 over money disputes.


    Levi Stubbs: lead vocals
    Abdul "Duke" Fakir, Renaldo "Obie" Benson,
 Lawrence Payton, and The Andantes: background vocals
    The Funk Brothers: instrumentation

    Released     July 1967
    Recorded     1966–67 

tracks list:

A1         Reach Out I'll Be There     2:58    
A2         Walk Away Renee     2:42    
A3         7-Rooms Of Gloom     2:31    
A4         If I Were A Carpenter     2:47    
A5         Last Train To Clarksville     2:38    
A6         I'll Turn To Stone     2:33    
B1         I'm A Believer     2:36    
B2         Standing In The Shadows Of Love     2:34    
B3         Bernadette     3:00    
B4         Cherish     3:00    
B5         Wonderful Baby     2:30    
B6         What Else Is There To Do (But Think About You)     2:38

Related Posts Plugin for WordPress, Blogger...