Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

lundi 2 mars 2020


MOTOWN RECORD 1966                                       MS 653 

Vintage Stock is a compilation album consisting of hit singles,
b-sides and unreleased material recorded by Mary Wells
 during the R&B singer's tenure at Motown. Released two years
 after she departed from the label in 1964 after spending four years
 in the label establishing herself as Motown's first star.


    Lead vocals by Mary Wells
    Background vocals by and The Rayber Voices, The Love Tones,
    The Temptations, The Supremes and The Andantes
    Instrumentation by The Funk Brothers

Producer :    Smokey Robinson
Norman Whitfield

tracks list:
A1 The One Who Really Loves You    
A2 When I'm Gone    
A3 He's The One I Love    
A4 Two Lovers    
A5 Guarantee (For A Lifetime)    
A6 Honey Boy    
B1 My Guy    
B2 Everybody Needs Love    
B3 You Beat Me To The Punch    
B4 I'll Be Avalable    
B5 One Block From Heaven    
B6 Goodbye And Good Luck


2 commentaires: