Read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, lovers of blues and soul music
and tourists, it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

samedi 11 février 2012

GENO WASHINGTON Hand Clappin' Foot Stompin' Funky-Butt... Live!

PICADILLY RECORDS 1966                            NSLP 38026 


    Geno Washington, lead vocals
    Pete Gage, guitar
    Lionel Kingham, saxophone
    Buddy Beadle, saxophone
    Geoff Pullum aka Jeff Wright, organ (now a linguist)
    John Roberts, bass
    Pete Carney, bass
    Herb Prestidge, drums
    Clive Burrows, saxophone
    Paul Turner, bass guitar

    Directed By – John Schroeder
    Engineer – Alan Florence
    Producer – John Schroeder

tracks list:

A1 Philly Dog
    Written By – Thomas        
A2 Ride Your Pony
    Written By – Neville        
A3 Up Tight (Everything's Alright)
    Written By – Cosby, Judkins, Moy        
A4 (I'm A) Road Runner
    Written By – Holland, Dozier, Holland        
A5 Hold On, I'm Comin'
    Written By – Hayes, Porter    
A6 Don't Fight It
    Written By – Pickett, Cropper        
A7 Land Of A Thousand Dances Pt. 1
    Written By – Kenner, Domino        
B1 Land Of A Thousand Dances Pt. 2
    Written By – Kenner, Domino        
B2 Respect
    Written By – Redding    
B3 Willy Nilly
    Written By – Hayes, Porter        
B4 Get Down With It
    Written By – Marchan        
B5 Michael
    Written By – Brownie        
B6 Que Sera Sera
    Written By – Livingstone, Evans