read an article on a post Bob Stanley on Guardian

"In the summer, the scene would move en masse to Ostend, Belgium's equivalent to Blackpool. DJ Freddy Cousaert played at the Groove, a late night downstairs bar frequented by US marines, tourists and prostitutes – it was Cousaert who later looked after Marvin Gaye during his 80s sejourn in Ostend. The music he played at the Groove included ska, Latin jazz and even Broadway songs such as Stranger in Paradise, or Whatever Lola Wants from Damn Yankees...."

vendredi 29 juin 2012


new album of raphael Wressning and alex schultz

Raphael Wressnig - Hammond B3 organ
Alex Schultz - guitars

With very special guest vocalists:
Tad Robinson & Deitra Farr

Special guests:
Kirk Fletcher - guitar
Sax Gordon - tenor & bari sax

Silvio Berger - drums & tambourine
Lukas Knöfler - drums & percussions
Eric Bloom - trumpet, valve trombone
Luis Ribeiro - percussions

01 All That I've Got 4.10
02 Soul Dressing 4.23
03 Double Bubble 4.08
04 Go Now 4.50
05 Pigmy 4.21
06 Tasty Dish 5.51
07 Cold Bear 3.23
08 Same Old Blues 4.06
09 Ain't Nothing Like The Real Thing 3.45
10 Casio Slim 2.44
11 Jellybread 3.51
12 Wichita Lineman 4.06
13 Money In The Pocket 4.57
14 A Change Is Gonna Come 4.22

mercredi 27 juin 2012


HIFI RECORDS 1959                                        R815 

Recorded in the Kaiser Aluminum Dome of the Kaiser 
Hawaiian Village Hotel on Waikiki in Honolulu.

tracks list:

A1 Bahia
A2 Jungle Happy
A3 Legend Of The Rain
A4 Bamboo
A5 Return To Me
A6 Caribbean Nights
B1 Quiet Village
B2 Tropical
B3 Happy Voodoo
B4 Busy Port
B5 Beyond The Reef
B6 Maui Chimes

mardi 26 juin 2012


BLUE NOTE RECORDS 1968                      BST 84293 


Bass – Bob Cranshaw
Congas – Victor Pantojo*
Congas, Guiro – "Potato" Valdes*
Drums – Mickey Roker
Flute, Flute [Alto] – Jerry Dodgion
Guitar – Al Gafa, Sam Brown (2)
Piano – Duke Pearson
Vibraphone – Bobby Hutcherson

sessions recording:

Jerry Dodgion (fl, afl) Bobby Hutcherson (vib) Duke Pearson (p, arr)
 Sam Brown (ac-g) Al Gafa (el-g) Bob Cranshaw (b)
 Mickey Roker (d) Victor Partajo (cga)
Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, June 24, 1968

3049 tk.22 Bunda Amerela (Little Yellow Streetcar)
Jerry Dodgion (fl, afl -1/4) Bobby Hutcherson (vib -1,3,4)
 Duke Pearson (p, arr) Sam Brown (ac-g -1,3,4) Al Gafa (el-g -1/4)
 Bob Cranshaw (b) Mickey Roker (d) 
Carlos "Patato" Valdes (cga, guiro -1/4)

Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, September 11, 1968

tracks list:

A1 The Phantom 10:15
A2  Blues For Alvina Written By – Willie and Alvina Wilson 3:05
A3  Bunda Amerela (Little Yellow Streetcar) 6:05
B1  Los Ojos Alegres (The Happy Eyes) 6:15
B2  Say You're Mine 5:50
B3  The Moana Surf Written By – Jerry Dodgion7:25

mardi 12 juin 2012


RONN RECORDS 1973                     LPS 7532 

C & P Paula Records, A Division Of Sue Records, Inc. 
Manufactured and distributed by Paula Records, A Division Of Sue Records, Inc. 

P 1973 Jewel Record Corp. 
Ronn Records, A Division Of Jewel Records 

tracks list:

A1 Open House At My House, Part 1 2:40
A2 You´re Not The Only One Baby (That´s Got Someone Across Town) 2:47
A3 My Special Rose 3:30
A4 A Thousand Miles Away 3:05
A5 I Can´t Stop Loving You 2:30
A6 What Would I Do (Without You) 2:55
B1 Open House At My House, Part 2 3:51
B2 You´re Savin' Your Best Loving For Me 3:19
B3 As Long As I Don´t See You 3:37
B4 Strange Bed With A Bad Head 3:21
B5 I´ll Make It Worth Your While 2:59

updated link

samedi 9 juin 2012


MOTOWN RECORDS 1969                   MS 694

Cream of the Crop is a 1969 album recorded by Diana Ross & the Supremes 
for the Motown label, the final regular Supremes studio album to feature lead 
singer Diana Ross. The album was released in November 1969, 
after the release and rising success of the
hit single "Someday We'll Be Together."


Diana Ross – Lead vocals
Mary Wilson – background vocals
Cindy Birdsong – background vocals
Florence Ballard – background vocals on "Blowin' In The Wind."
Syreeta Wright – background vocals on "The Beginning of the End."
Julia Waters – background vocals on "Someday We'll Be Together."
Maxine Waters – background vocals on "Someday We'll Be Together."
The Andantes – background vocals
The Funk Brothers - instrumentation
Various Los Angeles area session musicians – instrumentation
Arranged By – David Van DePitte, Paul Riser, Tom Baird, Wade Marcus

Released November 3, 1969
Recorded 1966 (Blowin' in the Wind), 1969 (All other tracks)

tracks list:

A1 Someday We'll Be Together 3:15
A2 Can't You See It's Me 2:33
A3 You Gave Me Love 2:40
A4 Hey Jude 2:59
A5 The Young Folks 3:05
A6 Shadows Of Society 2:59
B1 Loving You Is Better Than Ever 2:45
B2 When It's To The Top (Still I Won't Stop Giving You Love) 2:56
B3 Till Johnny Comes 2:57
B4 Blowin' In The Wind 2:57
B5 The Beginning Of The End 2:13

jeudi 7 juin 2012


TCF RECORDS 1965                   TCF-8002

 reissued on lp    Albert Collins ‎– Truckin' With   Blue Thumb Records – BTS 8


Alto Saxophone – Henry Hayes
Bass – Bill Johnson
Drums – Herbert Henderson
Guitar, Vocals, Written-By – Albert Collins
Liner Notes – Pete Welding
Organ – Walter McNeil
Producer – Bill Hall
Tenor Saxophone – Big Tiny
Trumpet – Frank Mitchell

All Tracks Originally recorded in Houston, Texas, 1962-'63,

tracks list:

A1 Frosty
A2 Hot N' Cold
A3 Frost Bite
A4 Tremble
A5 Thaw-Out
A6 Dyin' Flu
B1 Don't Lose Your Cool
B2 Backstroke
B3 Kool Aide
B4 Shiver N' Shake
B5 Icy Blue
B6 Sno-Cone II 

lundi 4 juin 2012


Tonight I feel very sad Michael is gone, my thoughts are with his family, 
he was a musician and very nice with great talent, I had received
 him at the Avignon festival blues and I keep one of
 my best memories my professional career.

dimanche 3 juin 2012


BLUE NOTE RECORS1962                  BLP 4155


Bass – Andrew Simpkins

Drums – Bill Dowdy

Piano – Gene Harris

 By – Rudy Van Gelder

Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, March 7, 1962
tk.4 Secret Love
tk.6 Oh Well, Oh Well
tk.7 Black Orchid
tk.8 A Foggy Day
tk.10 For All We Know
same personnel
Rudy Van Gelder Studio, Englewood Cliffs, NJ, March 8, 1962
tk.18 Saucer Eyes
tk.19 Don't Go, Don't Go
tk.21 At Last

tracks list:

A1 Black Orchid 5:15
A2 A Foggy Day 6:35
A3 For All We Know 5:25
A4 Oh Well Oh Well 3:45
B1 At Last 5:30
B2 Secret Love 5:40
B3 Don't Go Don't Go 5:00
B4 Saucer Eyes 4:35